Posted by: vincentlopez | January 10, 2009

Rewind – The Source September 1991 issue featuring Ice Cube

source-september-1991-24

This issue comes to you from a good person residing in Europe. Jo in Germany sent this issue to me to post up on the site and has promised to send a couple more. I can’t believe it’s been almost exactly a year since I’ve asked around for the missing Source mags on my list but I guess good things come to those who wait. I must say that the most surprising article in this issue deals with music publishing. It’s pretty obvious to me that every Bad Boy artist ever signed knew nothing about music publishing or just needed quick cash. Puffy, Diddy or whatever you want to call him knew that the key to staying paid was to convince his artists to give up their publishing for a fee, which the article clearly says NOT to do. If only Biggie had refused to do that, then maybe his daughter and son would be reaping the full profits from his album sales and the recent movie. And didn’t Nas sell his Illmatic publishing to MC Serch, too??? Also, N.W.A.’s Niggaz4Life album hits #1 with little marketing. I remember that the demand for that album was so high that as soon as I got to the record store, they had sold out of all of the tapes and CD’s in one day. I had to pick up one of the last two vinyl LP’s left on the shelf but I don’t regret it. I also still think that that album was Dr. Dre’s greatest achievement on production since it set the bar extremely high and created his master template and crystal clear sound that he still uses today. I don’t think he will ever surpass it.

 

Record Report:

 

Leaders of the New SchoolFuture Without a Past (4 broken records)

Livin Large OST (3 broken records)

Boyz N The Hood OST (3.5 broken records)

Above The LawVocally Pimpin EP (3 broken records)

Downtown ScienceDowntown Science (3 broken records)

Compton’s Most WantedStraight Check’n ‘Em (3.5 broken records)

Greyson and JasonSweatin Me Wet (3 broken records)

Royal Flush976-Dope (3 broken records)

 

Oh yeah, here’s the decreasing list of old Source mags that I need. If you have any of  these issues rotting in your basement somewhere, then I’d appreciate you finding them and scanning them for me. Thanks

 

February 1991 #18 EPMD

March/April 1991 #19 Big Daddy Kane, Paris, & Lakim Shabazz

May 1991 #20 Ice T

December 1991 #27 Kid ‘n Play

February 1992 #29 Geto Boys

March 1992 #30 Fab 5 Freddie, Ed Lover & Dr. Dre

May 1992 #32 X-Clan

 

 

Source September 1991 issue

 

~Vincent~

Responses

  1. i hope people know that back in ’91 Ice Cube was the prominent MC, he had that title towards the end of ’90 to about the middle of ’92.
    Its a plain fact, so its only proper that he was cover on this issue. also this was the time the west coast was runnin thangs.
    but props to Cube.

    and there were reasons why Big sold his publishing to Puff, u gotta know the story 1st. i would tell it, but its too long. But i know vincent knows the story. so u can make puff look like the bad guy on this issue. maybe others but not on this one.

  2. what i meant to say was u cant make Puff the bad guy on this issue. my bad.

  3. Thanks man. Cube is in my eyes when it comes to album the west goat

  4. What program do yall use to open this. Cuz mine acrobat reader says that the file is damagaed and cant open it. And I really wanna see this issue.

  5. @Anthony – I’m not having any problems opening the file and no one else said that they had a problem. Are you using Acrobat 7 or 8? Did you try closing Acrobat and restarting the computer? Let me know if that works.

  6. Hey Vincent. Ima tell you tommorow when i come home from school if its works cause right now im downloading Acrobat90. And my pc is kinda slow lol. I don’t know if this matters but mine Acrobat is dutch. Peace

  7. I downloaded Acrobat 9.0 and the file opens. Thanks to jo and you for all the sources magazines.


Leave a Reply

Categories

