Posted by: vincentlopez | September 1, 2008

What are your top 5 Wu-Tang albums? and D.I.T.S. – Wu-Tang ’94 freestyles

So I went to a boring a** conference for work last week.  Sitting next to me was a mouthy chick who spoke about 100 words per second and annoyed me with every passing second.  To take my mind off the speakers and big mouth, I started thinking of my top 25 albums of all time, which then morphed into my top 5 Wu-Tang albums (group and solo) of all time.  I tuned out everyone in the room and went back and forth in my head naming the albums and writing them on my yellow pad.  Of course, big mouth kept peaking at my paper to see what I was writing and when I wrote down “Ghostface Killah”, I caught her glaring at me like I was a crazed terrorist.  I gave her the Redman “Whuteva Man” look and kept on writing.  See my Wu-Tang top 5 directly below and feel free to tell me yours.

 

1. Raekwon – Only Built for Cuban Linx

2. Wu-Tang Clan – Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)

3. Gza/Genius – Liquid Swords

4. Ghostface Killah – Supreme Clientele

5. Ghostface Killah – Ironman

 

After I got back from the conference, I decided to find a couple of Wu freestyles (some rhymes you may recognize) that I had on tape from ’94.  Let me know if you like these.

 

Wu-Tang freestyle #1

http://www.zshare.net/audio/1801750837f2efc9/

 

Wu-Tang freestyle #2

http://www.zshare.net/audio/180181840753eaa7/

 

~Vincent~

Responses

  1. Nice list, Ironman definitely doesn’t get enough love when other people talk about their favorite Wu-Tang albums. I lol’d at the Chatty Cathy giving you a look for writing Ghostface Killah, I know the feeling.

    Here’s mine as of this moment:
    Ghostface Killah – Ironman
    Raekwon – Only Built 4 Cuban Linx
    Wu-Tang Clan – Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)
    Ghostface Killah – The Pretty Toney Album
    Ol’ Dirty Bastard – Return to the 36 Chambers

  2. Lists are nearly. I’d have Liquid Swords at one, Supreme Clientele at two, then Only Built 4 Cuban Linx, Enter the 36 and Ironman.

  3. that list is almost on point vincent. but u gotta spread the love. u give ghostface 2 nods. but its all good. man this was hard!! but i think i nailed it!

    but i cant believe Joseph put the pretty toney album on this list??!! thats bravery right there. wow!!

    1.raekwon- only built 4 cuban linx
    2.wu-tang- 36 chambers
    3.Ghostface- supreme clientele
    4. ODB- return to the 36 chambers
    5.method man- tical

    i had to spread the love. but this was hard. but i think i nailed it. all of their best work in my opinion was done from ’93-’00. if anyone picks any of their albums after that is definetly thinkin outside the box or just some young cats.

    this was a good one vincent!

  4. Wow – that’s kinda tough, believe it or not. I guess I’d go with:

    1. Wu-Tang Clan – Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)
    2. GZA – Liquid Swords
    3. Raekwon – Only Built 4 Cuban Linx
    4. Ol’ Dirty Bastard – Return to the 36 Chambers
    5. Ghostface – The Pretty Tony Album

    Pretty standard, actually.

  5. @Joseph and Floodwatch – The Pretty Toney Album??? I like Bulletproof Wallets better than that one but to each his own. You two share an eclectic taste, I see.

    And ODB’s first album is my number 6 album from the group. What does this say about Method Man? I never really liked his solo albums except for a few songs on Tical.

  6. 1) GZA – Liquid Swords
    2) Wu-Tang Clan – Enter The Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)
    3) Reakwon – Only Built 4 Cuban Linx
    4) Ghostface Killah – Ironman
    5) Wu-Tang Clan – Wu-Tang Forever

  7. 1. Enter the 36 Chambers
    2. Ironman
    3. Liquid Swords
    4. Cuban Linx
    5. Supreme Clientele

    I absolutely LOVE the Pretty Toney album–it’s the most FUN album in the Wu catalogue. I just can’t slide it into my top 5, but it’s definitely in my top 10.

  8. aint no way in heck the pretty toney album is better than wutang’s 2nd lp, liquid swords, ironman, judgement day, bulletproof wallets or bobby digital. heck, its not even better than the wu-chronicles album.

    that pretty toney album is average. aint no way u can put that album ahead of those albums just listed.

    if u think it is, u better come up with some solid, great points. and good luck on doing so.

  9. when discussing Wu Albums..Liquid Swords HAS to be in your top 5..there’s just no room for discussion

  10. Pretty Toney album ain’t better than NOTHING. He dropped the Killah, he dropped in quality. Hurr goes…

    1. Only Built 4 Cuban Linx
    2. Enta The Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)
    3. Supreme Clientele
    4. Liquid Swords
    5. Bulletproof Wallets

    Definitely next up would be that ODB album.

    I think Method Man’s best album is his last: 4:21…The Day After from 2006, but at that point, no one really cared.

  11. TC, great list, but u said meth’s best album is 4:21…the day after?

    i hope u not serious. tical & judgement day is his best work period. now u can decide which is best out of those 2. heck, the blackout album he did with redman can be included in that as well.

    as the years went on, meth’s lyrical prowness just went on a decline. but its kool, at least he made the best out of what he had.

  12. Brandan:

    Pretty Toney was so dope because it took the weirdo left field sh*t of Supreme Clientele and the R&B vibe of Bulletproof Wallets and expanded on it.

    I personally think Wallets is his weakest LP–if the 5 cuts (“The Watch,” “The Sun,” “Good Times”, etc) didn’t get chopped, it’s a different story. But it definitely sounds rushed and it tries too hard to please chicks and the radio. It’s got bright spots but to me it sounds like the label wanted to cash in on Ghost’s unexpected success of “Cher Chez La Ghost”.

    Pretty Toney is more balanced and focused. It’s got bangers (“Run,” “Metal Lungies,” “Be This Way”). It’s got GREAT skits (“Ghost need his colon cleansed…” genius). It’s got weirdo moments (“Beat the Clock,” “Holla,” “Kunta Fly Shit”). It’s got R&B jonts (“Push,” “Love”) and old school homages (“It’s Over,” “Ghostface,” “Last Night”).

    Overall, it just sounds like Ghost had FUN making that album. Ironman is my favorite album of all time, and Supreme Clinetele is his definitive work, but Pretty Toney is house party shit.

  13. @ brandan

    I mean don’t get me wrong…”All I Need” and “Bring The Pain” are Hip-Hop classics but who really remembers “Mr. Sandman” and “Release Yo Delf” besides those stuck in the ’90s??? Truthfully, I’d say that album is a strong 3.5 Mics, not too comfortable with a 4. And I won’t even begin to speak on Judgement Day

    Like I said, I think he found that perfect balance on what he wanted to accomplish for an entire album on 4:21… but Def Jam didn’t care enough to even release ONE single and nobody even really knew it was out.

  14. @zilla rocca
    me and u have to have a long talk. u said BW is ghost’s weakest album? thats a bonafied shocker to me. remember now, there was samples that wasnt cleared on that albums, so they had to go back an redo some of the beats. but still, BW is right behind ironman and SC.

    u said SC is full of weirdo stuff? WTF? there is so many bangers on that album its not even funny. that album alone kept Wu’s name alive during that time. That was the last album that RZA’s beats were on point! Man that albums holds a special place to me.

    PT is the last album on anyone’s mind. “Run” is tight but thats it. heck, fishscale is better than PT. yup i said it! Fishscale had some bangers on there. j-dilla did some joints on there!!

    cmon b, u gotta see the light. im trying to figure out what u seeing. we gotta talk.

  15. @TC

    u said who remember’s “Release Yo Delf”? 1st off if they dont know that track they aint hip-hop. thats a damn classic record!! he has a vid for it as well, check it out!

    and u are right im stuck in the 90’s. and im going to continue to be stuck, i dont want to be let loose. please keep me in the 90’s. hip-hop been on a decline since ’99. i stopped listinin to new hip-hop since ’03. i gave up. i still check for jay, nas & kanye. thats it. anyone else is uncivliazed.

    and u said u wont begin to speak on Judgement day??, there was so many bangers on there its not even funny. that album went 2X platinum. so obiviously people wanted to speak on it!!

    and congrats on def jam on not releasing a single for that 4:21. and u know that, that album wasnt gonna equal tical, wasnt gonna be better than JD. so good lookin on Jay for puttin that off. at least he had sme common sense. I love meth, but in the 90’s no one could touch him. i just think he used all the rhymes he had. its sad, but it happens!

  16. 1. Wu-Tang Clan – Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)
    2. Reakwon – Only Built 4 Cuban Linx
    3. GZA/Genius – Liquid Swords
    4. Method Man – Tical
    5. Ghostface – Supreme Clientele

  17. NO ORDER
    THE DIRTY VERSION
    ENTER THE WU-TANG (36 CHAMBERS)
    LIQUID SWORDS
    ONLY BUILT 4 CUBAN LINX
    SUPREME CLIENTELE


Leave a Reply

Categories

