Posted by: vincentlopez | May 7, 2008

Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) ~ Only 4.5 mics???

The February 1994 issue of The Source featured the well debated Wu-Tang Clan Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) review.  When the album first dropped, I remember almost the entire college campus branding it a classic on the strength of the singles.  The hunger and determination of the group shined through in every lyric, video and movement.  However, contrary to the opinion of the majority of my close friends and my girlfriend (who told me in so many words that I was crazy two days ago), I will never consider it a 5 mic classic.  I know a lot of people today bow down at the Wu-Tang altar so they’ll immediately think I’m crazy, too.  But hey, I can only like what I like and I make no apologies for my individual taste.  I’m one of the few people on Earth who firmly believes that The Source got the rating right the first time and that’s a rare occurrence.  I will forever view their debut album as a 4.5 (a 4.75, if possible) out of 5.  Why?  I always have and always will hate the first song (“Bring da Ruckus”) on the album.  While every guy in my dorm blasted that song right before playing Madden, I quickly skipped ahead to “Shame on a N****” every time I popped it into the CD player.  IMO, “Bring da Ruckus” has always been out of sync or something.  If only that one song had been put on the B-side to one of their singles as an unreleased track…

 

Some other highlights from this issue:

 

Akinyele writes a letter to The Source in response to the critics of the song ‘I Luh Huh’

Tupac is arrested for allegedly shooting police officers in Atlanta

– Timberland doesn’t need money from urban dwellers who buy their boots?

Kurupt with the hip-hop quotable for “For All My N***** & B******”

– Short interviews with Del and Souls of Mischief

 

Record Report highlights:

 

Snoop Doggy DoggDoggystyle (4 mics) – I think they got this rating right, too.  Don’t you wholeheartedly agree with me TC???

Queen LatifahBlack Reign (3.5 mics) – This album dropped at the right time.  We need more ladies in hip-hop who say something positive on a song from time to time.

Ice CubeLethal Injection (3.5 mics)

Domino – Self titled (3.5 mics)

MC RenShock of the Hour (3.5 mics)

Wu Tang ClanEnter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) (4.5 mics)

KuriousA Constipated Monkey (3.5 mics)

Yaggfu FrontAction Packed Adventures (3.5 mics)

 

 

February 1994 issue part 1

http://www.zshare.net/download/11559722b8985dd5/

 

February 1994 issue part 2

 http://www.zshare.net/download/11559823a75e4e6b/

 

~Vincent~

Responses

  1. Well…when they went back and rightfully gave it the 5 Mics it deserved, they was like “I don’t know what weeeee were smokin’ (as far as it not living up to 94’s standards) but rap would be in a much better state in cats dropped albums just half as nice as this one. Doggystyle=2nd best album ever.

    As for Enter The 36…, what can I say about it that hasn’t been said before. The fact that it inspired a massive generation of fans and future rappers is reason enough to award that .5 Mic, regardless if you like “Bring Da Ruckus” or not. By the way…you’re tripping lol.

    Lethal Injection=Cube’s worst album to date.

  2. I absolutely LOVE the bone cracking, snapping snare drum used on “Bring Da Ruckus.” Ghostface definitely caught the blast from a hype verse. Never thought someone WOULDN’T like that song. Pretty interesting.

  3. Wu-Tang Clan-Enter the Wu-Tang: 36 Chambers: Should’ve been 5 mics instead of 4.5.
    Snoop Dogg-Doggystyle: Should’ve been 5 mics, instead of 4.
    Ice Cube-Lethal Injection: They got the rating right.

  4. To be completely honest I kind of understand why it only got 4.5 mics for its time there were a lot of great music coming out at the time but looking at it now and the state of rap right now 20 years later it should be a 5 mic album by today’s standards but looking back being a 16year old in 1993 it’s definitely a 5mic for originality production and major influence

  5. I would trade Wu Tang’s 4 and 1/2 rating with Snoop’s 4. Snoop was more entertaining. As catchy and groundbreaking those Wu Tang flows were, Snoop was on point.


Leave a Reply

Categories

