Posted by: vincentlopez | February 1, 2008

R.I.P. Left Eye

The June 1992 issue of The Source featured TLC on the cover.  It was sheer blasphemy at the time to feature an R&B group on the cover of a hip-hop magazine and I still think it was a horrible decision today.  They should have NEVER been on the cover and I believe that LA Reid and Babyface must have paid a little extra to David Mays behind the scenes.  I know that they were new and talking about women protecting themselves during sex and all but where did they fit in with the great hip-hop music of that year?  You should have seen me at the record store trying to figure out if it was Essence magazine or a practical joke.  I didn’t even want to touch it.  If it weren’t for the Ultramagnetic MC‘s interview and the Gangstarr review, I probably wouldn’t have even bought it.  Anyway, it goes without saying that I have never even read the TLC interview in this magazine and I probably never will.  I’m sure you’ll ignore it to.

Some other highlights from issue:

–  Check out the Source Chart for the month.  There were a few missteps there (Kriss Kross, Penthouse Players, etc.) but for the most part, the list of albums out at that time was incredible.

X-Clan and KRS-One squash their beef

Skoob of Das Efx with the hip-hop quotable for “East Coast”

The Beastie Boys come back to Check Your Head

Lord Finesse drops a little science

Record Report highlights:

GangstarrDaily Operation (3.5 mics) – My all time favorite album by them.  It should have received 4.75 mics.  How many hip-hop groups have multiple albums that sound great a decade or more later?  From Step in The Arena (’91) to Moment in Truth (’98), their four 90’s albums (not counting Full Clip) have aged very well and since Guru was a mature (older and maybe wiser) rapper, there was little to no kiddie nonsense in his lyrics.  I think the older hip-hop fans still appreciate the sound of their 90’s albums today.  Long live Primo!

Spice 1 – Self Titled (4 mics) – I can’t understand how this album could EVER be rated higher than a Gangstarr album.  That’s just plain crazy!

Penthouse Players CliquePaid the Cost (3.5 mics)

Mellow Man AceThe Brother With Two Tongues (3.5 mics)

Showbiz and A.G. – Self Titled EP (4 mics)

June ’92 issue

http://www.zshare.net/download/668061737950c9/

~Vincent~

Responses

  1. Moment Of Truth is definitely their crowning achievement…

  2. That Spice 1 album definitely got its just deserts that was a great album and shocking that it got such a rating from a time when most of the Hip Hop magazines had such an East Coast bias.

  3. I know that they were new and talking about women protecting themselves during sex and all but where did they fit in with the great hip-hop music of that year? You should have seen me at the record store trying to figure out if it was Essence magazine or a practical joke.
    ========
    I remember this issue.
    I remember it being odd.

    But. Your response is dumb anti-female.

    If anything had to do with the issues of Mass Appeal and Commercialization and not that “I don’t want to touch the tampon” shit.

  4. show and ag should be 5 mics
    gangstarrs from step to moment in truth are five mics
    i dont skip on any of those
    the ratings system is always bullshit because its others opinions

  5. Hey, I was trying to join your blog, but had a hard time. Can you please repost this June 1992 issue of The Source? I’ve been looking for it all over and I stumbled upon your site. Honestly you have a very nice collection, from some of the archives, nice job! I’d love to check out some of your other scans.

    Thanks!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

