Posted by: vincentlopez | January 30, 2008

I’m Still #1

bdp-sav.jpgThe April 1992 issue of The Source featured the ever arrogant KRS-One on the cover.  Now, since he’s my favorite rapper of all time and the all time best, in my opinion, his arrogance has never bothered me.  KRS-One (or rather BDP) was definitely on some ish in ’92.  The WWF smack down of PM Dawn really put them in the spotlight.  I actually thought he would eventually be arrested for assault but nothing ever happened.  Anyway, the Sex & Violence album was like Return of The Boom Bap 1.0 to me.  Raw lyrics, dusty sounds and hard beats abounded.  I literally listened to it everyday (along with Lord Finesse’s Return of the Funky Man) during that cold spring semester in ’92.  And it has one of the best album covers I have ever seen in my life.  I know that some of the younger people today aren’t fans of KRS-One much but there’s no denying his place in history for those of us who are 30 and older.

Some other highlights from this issue:

 Kool Kim (of the UMC’s) writes an editorial on Disunity in Hip Hop – With their happy go lucky image, I never suspected that the UMC’s were conscious people.  Isn’t Kool Kim now called NYOil?  It all makes sense.

The Jaz with the hip-hop quotable for “Sign of the Crimes”

Kool Moe Dee owes the I.R.S. for back taxes

A rap session on the BDP/PM Dawn incident

Record Report highlights:

Ultramagnetic MC’sFunk Your Head Up (4 mics)

Fu-SchnickensFU Don’t Take it Personal (3.5 mics)

 

Little ShawnVoices in the Mirror (3.5 mics)

April ‘92 issue

http://www.zshare.net/download/66786367a2bea9/

 

~Vincent~

 

Responses

  1. Can’t thank you enough for scanning all these pages for us. Never got to see this side of The Source before, so it’s dope that I get to now through your blog. Keep it up~

  2. Ultramag ‘Funk Your Head Up’, I remember mad fiending for another Ultra album after Critical Beatdown hit in 1988… when Funkfinally dropped it disappointed me a little, the album was a ‘slow burner’ and soon it started to grow on me… but the Poppa Large Eastcoast Remix really blew my brains out!! I’ve probably listened to that song a couple of hundred times already.


Leave a Reply

Categories

