Posted by: vincentlopez | January 18, 2008

Push It Along

source-mag-cover-jan-91.jpgI had an adventurous evening getting the scanner to work for the first time.  I never thought I’d one day say that scanning magazines was intense and tiring.  But as I get older, everything is becoming more tiring.  Anyway, after some trial and error, I scanned a few issues successfully.  The first to be posted here is from January 1991.  Don’t be surprised when you see that the cover photo above doesn’t match the one I scanned.  I bought mine during the holiday break from college back in December 1990.  When I got to the store, they only had one leftover issue with the original “Source” header torn off.  Oh well, I didn’t complain then and neither should you since it’s free.  This is the 1990 year in review issue and it’s clear that hip-hop was a different animal back then.  And as I mentioned in a previous post, I won’t be scanning any ads because they increase the size of the files dramatically.

Here are some of the interesting tidbits from this issue:

 -Large Professor had the hip-hop quotable of the month for “Looking At The Front Door”

– DMX “The Great” was the unsigned hype featured artist

-Hammer and Vanilla Ice’s impact on the future of hip-hop music was a heavy topic

– The reader’s survery detailing their favorite everything for the year (artist, album, producer, video, etc.)

-Tribe’s “Peoples Instinctive Travels” and Eric B and Rakim’s “Let the Rhythm hit Em” both received 5 “records” (later on they would change it to mics) but were considered slept on

Record Report (at this time they were still reviewing and rating singles as well):

Run-DMC – Back from Hell (rated 3.5) – and I bought the record instead of the tape back then.  What was I thinking?

Father MC – Father’s Day (rated 2.5)

Groove B Chill – Staring from Zero (rated 3)

Lakim Shabazz – The Lost Tribe of Shabazz (rated 2.5)

A Tribe Called Quest – Can I Kick It/If the Papes Come (rated 4) – and I bought this on record, too.  Thank goodness for mp3’s.

Gangstarr – Just to Get a Rep/Who’s Gonna Take the Weight (rated 4)

 There’s more but you can read and discover for yourself.  One more comment on these earlier issues.  The Source staff covered a lot more of the culture, politics and social impact of the music than they would in later years.  It’s a shame because that’s what made the magazine great (and balanced) in my eyes.  Oh well.

Enjoy!

http://www.zshare.net/download/6632690b6d253e/

~Vincent~

Responses

  1. Many thanks for doing this, I look forward to the others and could I please put in a request for the 1992 issue with EPMD on the cover?.

    Awesome work Vince.

  2. That EPMD issue is September 1992. I have it here on my desk and I’ll try to get to it in a few days for you. I just finished scanning the ’91 issues this evening.

  3. Huge props. This is great.


Leave a Reply

Categories

