Posted by: vincentlopez | January 17, 2008

Searchin…

se-yic.jpgThe scanner I ordered was finally delivered yesterday.  So I sat in the basement for about two hours organizing all of the magazines that I plan to scan.  There are about 175 total.  I will begin with January 1991 #16 of The Source and continue through to October 2003 #169.  But as I organized the mags in piles by year, I discovered some were missing (read: stolen) or very damaged.  Here’s a list of missing/damaged Source mags that I will NOT be able to scan and post here:

 February 1991 #18 EPMD

March/April 1991 #19 Big Daddy Kane, Paris, & Lakim Shabazz 

May 1991 #20 Ice T

September 1991 #24 Ice Cube

December 1991 #27 Kid ‘n Play

February 1992 #29 Geto Boys

March 1992 #30 Fab 5 Freddie, Ed Lover & Dr. Dre

May 1992 #32 X-Clan

October 1992 #37 DJ Quik

April 1993 #43 Martin Lawrence

March 1994 #54 Luke (This was probably the worst issue of the Source I had ever seen until Fall ’97 came along.)

September 1997 #96 Puff Daddy

December 1997 #99 Nas, AZ, and Foxy Brown

March 1998 #102 Mase & The Lox

August 2000 #131 Wyclef

October 2002 #157 Murder Inc.

Other than The Source, I will also be scanning the first 8 to 10 issues of both XXL and Blaze (created by Vibe).  Blaze has one of the most controversial issues ever concerning the greatest MC’s, albums, producers, etc. at that time (’98).  I can remember plenty of heated debates regarding that issue.  I can’t wait to scan and post that one.

 I originally planned to scan each and every page, but I quickly realized that scanning entire mags will create huge files and therefore, space issues with my computer.  So I’ll probably just stick with the articles and record reviews and only scan ads here and there.  Look for the first issue some time this weekend.

Special ED – Think About It

http://www.zshare.net/audio/6607000eef8092/

 ~Vincent~

Responses

  1. Nooooooo, not the Kid N Play edition! That was my first Source I bought. Oh well…..looking forward to this!

  2. Man And I Thought I Had A lot Of Old Source Magazines But I Was Wrong. Well I Have A Few Of Those Old Issues That Were Either Stolen Or Damaged. Mine Are In Mint Condition Too. I Really Guarded Them With My Life. Well Anyways Here Is A List Of What I Have

    February 1991 #18 EPMD

    May 1991 #20 Ice T

    September 1991 #24 Ice Cube

    February 1992 #29 Geto Boys

    Let Me Know If I Can Help In Anyway?

    PEACE!!!

    March 1992 #30 Fab 5 Freddie, Ed Lover & Dr. Dre

    May 1992 #32 X-Clan

    April 1993 #43 Martin Lawrence

    March 1994 #54 Luke (This was probably the worst issue of the Source I had ever seen until Fall ‘97 came along.)

    March 1998 #102 Mase & The Lox

  3. Scan them if you can and I can put them up on the site. We have to preserve the best years of The Source and share them.

  4. This is EXCITING!!! Its really good to know that someone has all of this stuff saved…most people didn’t know it was history in the making at the time…so its good you’ll be able to play a part in the history telling

  5. Your site is the best!
    Thanks for all you have to offer. The mags bring back so many memories.
    I was wondering if you have scanned the copies of the source when Eazy/Big and Pac passed. I think I recall tribute mags/covers – or am I wrong? Maybe it was vibe magazine?

  6. @PK – The Eazy E issue is July 1994. Check here https://thimk.wordpress.com/2008/10/25/the-source-1994-issues-re-ups/#comment-1131 and here https://thimk.wordpress.com/2008/06/21/the-source-july-1994-issue-featuring-eazy-e/. I haven’t gotten to the Tupac and Big tribute issues yet. I’ll get to the Tupac issue sometime in the spring.

  7. […] Thimk […]

  8. […] Thimk […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

