Posted by: vincentlopez | May 14, 2008

Nas’ Illmatic = 5 Mics!!!!!

 

…and now back to our regularly scheduled program.  What a way to bounce back.  After The Source staff’s vacation for that March ’94 Miami issue, they did a complete 180o degree turn for the April 1994 issue and got back to work.  This is the most well worn issue in my entire collection.  Within the span of a week, more than 20 guys in my dorm asked to borrow it.  And over the years, I’ve had people ask me to photocopy it for them.  Thank goodness for scanning technology since the pages have begun to fall out.  First things first, Gangstarr is on the cover.  Other than that Nasty Nas album, Hard to Earn was the other highly anticipated album on campus.  Primo must have been the busiest producer over that past year, too. From his own album, KRS-One to Nas, to Jeru to Biggie, etc. his schedule was full.  And he gave them all quality time as evidenced by the finished product.   But anyway, let’s get back to the main subject.  Nasty Nas’ Illmatic.  Before his Escobar image fiasco, he was obviously a student in the Rakim School of Rhymin’, Poetry and Emceein’.  Dude was truly a poet in hip-hop and reading the lyrics without the music proves it.  There was no ‘Lollipop’ garbage on Illmatic.  Since the main supplier of exclusive music in college, Brooklynite Marlon, dropped off the bootleg tape to me (which I still have here in the basement after 14.5 years), I was a Nas fiend.  Between classes, everyone blasted their static filled bootleg Nas tape from November ’93 all the way to the official release date.  And not one person I bumped into thought it was less than a 5 mic classic.  I do believe we harbored an unspoken East Coast bias at the time, though, because 80% to 90% of the music we liked was from NYC, Jersey or Philly.  Our only debates were which song(s) were/are better (for my money it’s ‘NY State of Mind’, ‘Memory Lane’ and ‘One Love’).

 

When the time came for the official day of release, there was no haggling for a ride or worrying about writing our papers and studying for finals even though it was the last week and a half of the semester, and sadly, I was about to graduate in less than two weeks.  I can’t adequately describe how bittersweet it felt at the time to hear such a great album combined with the elation of finishing college knowing that my daily hip-hop debates with knowledgable people from up and down the East Coast would soon end.  Back to the story ~ A bunch of us jumped into somebody’s car and headed to our favorite mom & pop record store near the University of Delaware (I don’t know why we always drove to Delaware) and bought every copy of the CD they had for sale.  The sales clerk looked at us like we were crazy.  On the way back to campus, everyone except the driver, ripped open their CD case and silently read the production credits and liner notes with smiles plastered on our faces.  I’m sure you’ve read numerous reviews of the album so I won’t get into that here but I was the happiest guy you’d ever seen for months (even though my girlfriend was upset because I neglected her to listen to the album).  I hadn’t played an album that much on a consistent basis since I had purchased Big Daddy Kane’s Long Live the Kane and Special Ed‘s Youngest in Charge back in high school.  And I only had two complaints about the album (I’m grumpy, remember?).  The original ‘Represent’ on the demo tape sounded much grimier and I loved that.  I still play that version.  And my other complaint was that the album was too short.  But I understood that MC Serch probably cut the album down to preserve the quality.  In hindsight, he did the right thing.

 

But why was this album not as commercially successful as Doggystyle and Ready to Die?  According to the RIAA, Illmatic (released on April 19, 1994) went gold on January 17, 1996 and then platinum on December 11, 2001.  I think it had a lot to do with the lack of club/radio friendly songs.  ‘It Ain’t Hard to Tell’ was a good first single for the radio but other than that, this stellar album was made for people to play in the car or at home.  It was truly a gift and a curse for Nas.  Today, ‘best hip-hop album’ lists always seem to have this album in the top ten and many times at #1 (http://passionweiss.com/2007/05/09/the-25-greatest-albums-of-all-time-as-voted-on-by-the-internet/).  But for me, it will only reach as high as #4.  Sorry Nas.

 

Side note 1 – I have to say that the feeling of anticipation regarding an album’s release date was the best part about buying music pre-Internet.  Actually reading the artist’s interviews prior to the release, seeing the ads/videos, and going to the store where you’d bump into DJ’s and other people with similar taste, and then ripping open the case to read the CD liner notes while on the train or bus home was all about the experience of being a true consumer.  Not to mention the freebies (posters, stickers, discounted/free records and CD’s, etc.) you’d get for being a frequent customer of a mom & pop record store.  With all of the greatness of technology (I love the accessibility), that one important aspect (anticipation) has died and I never ever hear younger people talking about the anticipation of an album.  It’s simply downloaded on the day that it leaks and that’s it.  Hip-hop music has become seemingly disposable but as long as you have Internet access and search long enough, you’ll find something old and something new that suits your taste.

 

Side note 2 – About 6 years ago, I was surprised to find out that Shortie aka Minya Oh aka Miss Info was the one who wrote the Illmatic review.  She actually wrote quite a bit of the important articles/reviews around this time so she’s been plugged in for a while.

 

 

Some other highlights from this issue:

 

- Tupac continues his numerous legal battles

- Raekwon with the hip –hop quotable for ‘C.R.E.A.M.’

- Have bulletproof vests become fashionable?

- An article/discussion regarding Nas and the making of Illmatic

- Haiti in turmoil

- The Maddenbowl ’94 tournament (played on Sega Genesis) featuring one of my favorite artists (Masta Ace) as the winner  - E-A-G-L-E-S! – Casual, Buckshot, Sadat X, Kurious, Q-Tip, Kid Capri, and MC Serch were some of the other contestants

- The great article on the history of Gangstarr

 

Record Report highlights:

 

- NasIllmatic (5 mics)

- ShyheimAKA The Rugged Child (4 mics)

- E-40The Mail Man EP (3.5 mics)

- The New 2 Live CrewBack At Your A** For the Nine-4 (3 mics)

- Conscious DaughtersEar to the Street (3.5 mics)

- Down SouthLost in Brooklyn (3.5 mics)

 

April 1994 issue part 1

http://www.zshare.net/download/119548465854292e/

 

April 1994 issue part 2

http://www.zshare.net/download/11955194a13c7a12/

 

BONUS!

 

Nas – Illmatic

http://www.zshare.net/download/119564641a7ffb86/

 

Nas – Illmatic instrumentals

http://www.zshare.net/download/119621382e6b7792/

 

Nas – Illmatic Demos

http://www.zshare.net/download/11962900bfa5119e/

 

 

~Vincent~

 

Responses

  1. “But why was this album not as commercially successful as Doggystyle and Ready to Die? ”

    And that is the reason for the It Was Written and the other Nas albums. So when fans ask why he won’t make another Illmatic, that question is the reason. And despite the fact that he hasn’t repeated Illmatic doesn’t take away from the fact that he is a top 10 MC and has had many high points in his rap career. Despite what many would lead you to believe, his good far outweighs the bad.

  2. Illmatic=#3 for me. (Length is my issue too but in contrast to critical thinking about quality, what about all the other “true LPs” (read: Long Play) that managed to flawless execution. 9…I mean 8 songs is kinda a copout, but with all that said…this is truly a diamond.

    And for someone who has a lot of answers, I can never understand why it never sold because aside from the obviousness of perfection, this album gets A LOT of coverage. I mean it was on Rolling Stone’s top 500 alongside the Beatles and Bob Dylan. I always get the feeling a lot of people are frontin’ and never heard it…

  3. And truthfully the “leak date” is the new anticipation date. True it’s not the same as rushing out to a store to buy it but listeners are still going in blind all the same. If anything, I personally like the “try before you buy” philosophy. Just like all of us and I love the music and understand it’s not going to continue without some sort of monetary support but I will never be hoaxed in to buying a wack album again. In high school, I used to this here very magazine as an buyer’s guide and anything under 3.5 I wouldn’t touch…

    And I still got burnt buying before a review…

  4. Mad props for this, loving this very very much

  5. DEFINITELY ONE OF MY FAVORITE ISSUES. GURU AND PREMIER ON THE TRAIN….PREMIER IN THE ILL COLUMBIA JACKET AND THE CARHARTT SKULLIE WHICH WERE 90S STAPLES….GOOD LOOKIN ON THIS

  6. bringing it back my man… I remember this issue and all my friends buzzing about the 5 mics.

  7. peace vincent, if you would relink the demo version i would feel truly blessed.

    i remember this issue too, the dropping of the album, all that. nas when he was still going by nasty nas.

    i have been thru some health isht lately so my blogs have fallen off but i’m in the process of revamping them right now.

    i have written for the source recently…trying to bring some of the original flavor back with new assignments. it’s much needed. i like to write mostly old school/political articles. you might have seen my stuff in elemental and wax poetics. peace!

  8. sweet

  9. Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m
    undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  10. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources
    back to your website? My blog is in the very
    same area of interest as yours and my visitors would definitely benefit from a lot of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Thanks!

  11. Hey there would you mind sharing which blog
    platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my
    own blog soon but I’m having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  12. […] 2013 was the start of Info and Nas’ relationship, hip-hop nerds know she was the one to give Illmatic its game-changing 5mic review, when The Source Magazine was still relevant. Take a look at the […]

  13. […] 2013 was the start of Info and Nas’ relationship, hip-hop nerds know she was the one to give Illmatic its game-changing 5mic review, when The Source Magazine was still relevant. Take a look at the […]

  14. […] 2013 was the start of Info and Nas’ relationship, hip-hop nerds know she was the one to give Illmatic its game-changing 5mic review, when The Source Magazine was still relevant. Take a look at the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

